Poem a Day/ April 28th, 2011 – Chad Redden

YOU SENT A DREAM TO YOUR SISTER FROM THE AFTERLIFE/ Chad Redden

You told her that in the afterlife
everyone who ever was or ever will be
exists simultaneously in small apartments

and the parking situation is bad.

You told her I’m there,
in some glass box reading,

always reading,

catching up on the books I never have time for your sister
so I delete her messages from you.

She calls with another message you sent to her
where you tell her I will delete the message
she is currently leaving like I have

all of her other messages and will continue
to ignore the dreams you send your sister.

Also,
you told her in different dream
that the glass box I’m reading in
is not made for living,
it is made for displaying,
not the afterlife around me, but me,
who is too busy reading,

always reading.

She calls and leaves another message.

“He told me to keep calling,” she said.

Leave a Reply

